Getting Back To Thankfulness

I set up an interactive bulletin board last week at my college in preparation for thanksgiving.  It was covered in strips of blank paper, and said at the top,

“Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; his love endures forever.” – 1 Chronicles 16:34

What are you thankful for this thanksgiving?

Nearly all the strips of paper had been filled in by students by the end of the week.  Some were simple, some were profound, some were thankful for the people around them, a lot were thankful for good food.

Sometimes finding things to be genuinely grateful for is difficult.  Especially when the depression settles in, the anxiety brings up every worst case scenario, my body is sick and lacking sleep and is becoming increasingly uncooperative when I need to focus, and I have taken on way, way more than I should have this semester, I look at my life and all I can see is what needs to change.

What can I be thankful for? I wonder.  My life is okay, but it is not good by anyone’s standards!

I have to think about it.  I have to search for reasons, but they are there.

I am in my third year of my degree program, but this semester is the first semester in which my bank account has not drifted below $500.00.  This is good.

I received such encouragement this last week, which got me through my lowest week in months.

I have a reliable job which lets me take the time off that I need.

How I would like to take nothing for granted!  But I am not there yet.  So I will begin with today.  Though with only a few thanks, it is a step in the attitude I aspire toward.

What do you think?

